Database List

Contains indexing for over 8,000 publications, many of them peer-reviewed journals. Full text is available for more than 4,450 of these titles in subjects such as biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and more.

ProQuest African American Heritage offers a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically selected to help address the unique issues of African American family research. Inside ProQuest African American Heritage, users will find slave, free(d), court, and U.S. federal census records; marriage and cohabitation records, military records, and family history books; Black Genesis, an exhaustive guide that makes locating genealogical resources pertaining to slaves and free blacks easier; and direct access to AfriGeneas™, a community of research experts whose mentoring and assistance can frequently be the difference between research success and futility.

Search full-text articles for 5 local newspapers: the Standard-Times, the East Greenwich Pendulum, the Narragansett Times, The Kent County Times and The Westerly Sun.

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

Ancestry Library Edition
Discover your unique family history! This resource includes billions of records from around the world, including U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration and passport records, periodicals and books, photos, and more.

This Database can only be accessed in the Library*.

An integrated research experience, Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature. Includes Literature Resource Center, 19th Century Literary Criticism, 20th Century Literary Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

Business and residential directory

Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945. Database content includes approximately 26,000 vehicles covered from 1945 to the present; over 150,000 factory drawings and step-by-step photographs; approximately 70,000 technical service bulletins & recalls, and over 100,000 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing.

Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. Just like all the new revolutionary In Context products, it’s a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user.

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.

Provides access to education literature and resources included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Contains more than 1,243,000 records and links to more than 224,000 full-text documents from ERIC.

Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Provides access to fifty high-quality reference resources, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business encyclopedias, consumer health information, literature resources, science encyclopedias, and other specialized reference sources.

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

General interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

HeritageQuest Online provides libraries with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. The database includes original page images from over 25,000 books and the entire U.S. Federal Census. Census records can be searched by name, place of birth, age, ethnicity and other variables.

A comprehensive full text history reference database. Features full text for more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books from leading history publishers as well as full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals. The database also contains more than 61,100 historical documents, 66,000 biographies of historical figures, 110,200 historical photos and maps and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Easy to search database of topics and research materials for Kids!

Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.

Indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage include librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage extends as far back as the mid-1960s.

Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. It combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. The foundation of Literature Resource Center is Gale Group's three well-known author databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Gale's Literature Criticism, and For Students series are also included.

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags

Inside of the North Kingstown Free Library

Find comprehensive financial information on thousands of mutual funds, including the Morningstar star rating. Get comprehensive financial information on New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ stocks. Get return information on various investment indexes, types, sectors, and styles. Test drive our robust yet easy-to-use portfolio tools and calculators to determine what your asset mix should be, how your investments are working together, and more.

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

Have you read everything by your favorite author? Use Author Read-alikes to locate other authors and titles of interest or search for fiction by topic. NoveList also includes full-text searchable book reviews, annotations, genre- and theme-based book lists, award lists, and book discussion guides.

Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

Primary Search® contains full text for more than 80 popular, elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.

Full text of the Providence Journal provided through ProQuest.

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students) is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students. Searchasaurus provides access to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary through an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Lexile limiters allow searchers to specify the reading level of materials retrieved. Included is the Encyclopedia of Animals.

Provides access to full-text articles from the Standard-Times (2009 - current )

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

Through the Student Research Center, users can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.

Student Resources In Context provides holistic topic perspectives by integrating a multitude of content, including 79,000 reference articles from acclaimed publications like American Decades, 15 million periodical and newspaper articles from the New York Times, U.S. News and World Report, and many others, 4,200 primary sources,100,000 multimedia records, including charts, graphs, maps and tables, video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources.

Available to North Kingstown card holders from home.

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

Tutor.com or Homework Help RI provides Live one-to-one help: Every Day from 2:00pm to 10:00pm. Choose the Student Center, College Center, Adult Education Center, Career Center or the ProofPoint Writing Center.
For 24/7 access try the SkillsCenter Resource Library for Study Resources, Test Prep Resources, and Career Resources.

The World Book web site offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.